SMP Principal Selected as LADOE Semifinalist

Posted by District on 4/7/2021

The Louisiana Department of Education's 2022 Teacher and Principal of the Year Semifinalists list includes a St. Mary Parish Principal. 

Congratulations to Ms. Shantell Toups, principal of J. S. Aucoin Elementary School, who will now move forward into the final selection round. She and the other 47 semifinalists for the Teacher and Principal of the Year awards will be honored at the 15th Annual Excellent Educators Awards Gala held virtually on July 16, 2021. 

School systems from across the state submitted nominations for this honor, which is intended to recognize the impact of great teachers and school leaders on student success. 

From Dr. Cade Brumley, Louisiana State Superintendent of Education: “Our teachers and leaders have been doing hero's work over the past year to educate during the pandemic and a historically active hurricane season. Congratulations to these 48 semifinalists. Our state is in a better place today because of their service to children and families.”