SMP Students of the Year Announced

Posted by District on 1/12/2021

From Ms. Drexler, Program Chairperson:

Congratulations to the St. Mary Parish Students of the Year:

  • Fifth Grade: Briar Gorman (Wyandotte Elementary School)
  • Eighth Grade: Mallory Menard (Berwick Jr. High School)  
  • Twelfth Grade: Abby Williams (Berwick Sr. High School)

The Students of the Year Award Program is designed to recognize outstanding elementary, middle/junior, and high school students.  This program is an excellent opportunity to recognize students from each parish who have demonstrated excellent academic achievement, leadership ability, and citizenship.  The Students of the Year Award Program is sponsored by the Louisiana State Superintendent through the State Department of Education and the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education.  Parish winners will participate in a virtual regional competition to be hosted in St. James Parish (5th grade), Jefferson Parish (8th grade), and Plaquemines Parish (12th grade) during the month of February.

View press release with additional participants.