St. Mary Parish Families Eligible for Emergency Food Benefits

Posted by District on 5/16/2020

The Louisiana Department of Education, in partnership with the U.S. Department of Agriculture, is offering families assistance in purchasing food to help offset school meals missed during the COVID-19 closures. The emergency food benefit is available to ALL children who would normally receive free or reduced meals at school and to ALL students who attend a Community Eligibility Provision (CEP) school. 

St. Mary Parish CEP schools include the following:

  • Aucoin Elementary
  • B. Edward Boudreaux Middle
  • Bayou Vista Elementary
  • Berwick Elementary
  • Centerville High
  • Foster Elementary
  • Franklin High
  • Franklin Jr. High
  • Hattie Watts Elementary
  • LaGrange Elementary
  • Maitland Elementary
  • Morgan City High
  • Morgan City Jr. High
  • Norman Elementary
  • Patterson High
  • Patterson Jr. High
  • Raintree Elementary
  • West St. Mary High
  • Wyandotte Elementary

Therefore, a parent whose child attends any one of these schools is eligible to apply, as well as any parent whose child is eligible for free/reduced meals at Berwick High and Berwick Jr. High

This is an incredible opportunity for families to obtain assistance in a quick and easy process. The portal for applying opens on Monday, May 18th. Applications are due by June 8, 2020.

More information about the Pandemic Electronic Benefit Transfer (P-EBT) program can be accessed through the state's digital flyer. The flyer includes links to the application portal and frequently-asked questions (FAQs) about the program.