St. Mary Parish Students of the Year Named

Posted by District on 1/15/2020

Ms. Tammy J. Drexler, St. Mary Parish Chairperson for the Louisiana Student of the Year Awards Program, has released the winners of this year's competition. The Students of the Year Award Program is designed to recognize outstanding elementary, middle/junior, and high school students.  This program is an excellent opportunity to recognize students from each parish who have demonstrated excellent academic achievement, leadership ability, and citizenship.  

Congratulations to the following students:

  • 5th Grade: Ella Mae Billiot (Bayou Vista Elementary School)
  • 8th Grade: Cherish Alana Lewis (Berwick Junior High School)
  • 12th Grade: Luke Anthony Orlando (Berwick High School)

The Students of the Year Award Program is sponsored by the Louisiana State Superintendent through the State Department of Education and the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education.  Parish winners will participate in the regional competition to be hosted in St. Mary Parish (5th grade), Jefferson Parish (8th grade), and Plaquemines Parish (12th grade) during the month of February.

Press Release