Return to Headlines

District Students of the Year Announced

Students of the Year from schools in St. Mary Parish Public Schools participated in the District Student of the Year competition this week. The Students of the Year Award Program is designed to recognize outstanding elementary, middle/junior, and high school students for their demonstration of excellent leadership ability, citizenship, and academic achievement. The Students of the Year Award Program is sponsored by the Louisiana State Superintendent through the State Department of Education and the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education.

The Students of the Year representing St. Mary Parish in the next level of competition are:

  • Carson Paradee, fifth grade, Berwick Elementary School
  • Tyren Austin, eighth grade, B. Edward Boudreaux Middle School
  • Cherish Lewis, twelfth grade, Berwick High School

Other participants were:


Jacqueline Lopez, Aucoin Elementary School
Alise Geisler, Bayou Vista Elementary School
Zoe Bethea, Centerville Elementary School
Ailyn Hernandez, Foster Elementary School
Kendal Hawkins, Lagrange Elementary School
Noelle Cheramie, Norman Elementary School
Angelica Sanchez, Patterson Junior High School
Sa’Niyah August, Raintree Elementary School
Annabelle Guagliardo, Wyandotte Elementary School


Stanley Aucoin, Berwick Junior High School
Icis Gant, Centerville High School
S’Nai Burrell, Franklin Junior High School
Briar Gorman, Morgan City Junior High School
Carlynn Lalonde, Patterson Junior High School


Maci Pellerin, Centerville High School
Kayla Smith, Franklin Senior High School
Michelle Beals, Morgan City High School
Ella Doucet, Patterson High School
Le’Zay’Lon Brown, West St. Mary High School

We congratulate all participants who were chosen as Students of the Year at his/her school and wish the best of luck to our District Students of the Year at the next level of the competition. District Students of the Year will participate in the BESE Region 3 Zone competition in December.