Return to Headlines

District Students of the Year Recognized

St. Mary Parish Public School students participated in the Students of the Year competition. The Students of the Year Award Program is designed to recognize outstanding elementary, middle/junior, and high school students.  This program is an excellent opportunity to recognize students from each parish who have demonstrated excellent leadership ability, citizenship, and academic achievement.  The Students of the Year Award Program is sponsored by the Louisiana State Superintendent through the State Department of Education and the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education. 

The Students of the Year representing St Mary Parish in the regional competition are:

Left to right, Lynkon Kitchen, Jude Tarver, and Alyssa Perkins

FIFTH GRADE:  Lynkon Kitchen, Bayou Vista Elementary School

EIGHTH GRADE:  Jude Tarver, Berwick Junior High School

TWELFTH GRADE:  Alyssa Perkins, Patterson Senior High School

Other participants were:

  • Brock Diaz, Aucoin Elementary School
  • Rylee Fryou, Berwick Elementary School
  • Brooklyn Comeaux, Centerville Elementary School
  • Evelyn Hernandez, Foster Elementary School
  • J’laysiah Polidore, Lagrange Elementary School
  • Raegan Miller, Maitland Elementary School
  • Chasity Williams, Norman Elementary School
  • Lainey Taylor, Patterson Junior High School
  • Cielor Smith, Raintree Elementary School
  • Hudson Gorman, Wyandotte Elementary School


  • Amyrie’ Barabin, B. E. Boudreaux Middle School
  • Ka’leigh Moore, Centerville High School
  • Caliss Williams, Franklin Junior High School
  • Lily Viator, Morgan City Jr. High School
  • Gracie Durapau, Patterson Jr. High School


  • Gabriela Utra, Berwick High School
  • Tristan Freeman, Centerville High School
  • Sheccid Alamo-Hernandez, Franklin Senior High School
  • Janaa Coulon, Morgan City High School
  • A’niya Gibson, West St. Mary High School


We congratulate all participants who were chosen as Students of the Year at his/her school and wish the best of luck to our District Students of the Year at Regional competitions. District Students of the Year will participate in the regional competition to be hosted in St. Mary Parish (5th grade), Jefferson Parish (8th grade), and St. Bernard Parish (12th grade) between January 24 and February 25.